Mixtape Moment

If there is one way to win me over with a gift it would have to be a mixtape that melts my heart. Just the thought that goes into the track listing is what makes it so special, and for this Christmas my younger brother made not one but two mixtapes for me, and here’s a few highlights from the double whammy gift that keeps on giving. Can you tell that we both share a mutual appreciation of dub step?

Flight Facilities – Crave You (Adventure Club Dubstep remix): First heard on the Made in Chelsea TV show the remixed version is quite a nice twist to the otherwise pretty romantic song with an indie twist.

Benny Benassi – Cinema (Skrillex remix): Now I must be honest, wasn’t the biggest fan of the original track but the spin that Skrillex has put on it has made it into such a great driving song and one that gets me going in the morning. Skrillex certainly does have a magic touch!

Ellie Goulding – Lights (Bassnectar remix): I have been a fan of Ellie Goulding ever since she was announced as the BBC Sound of 2010 – that award is gold to an up and coming artist. The one thing I love about this remix by Bassnectar is that they have captured the innocence of the song with the twinkles in the background but given it a driven bass beat to give some wellie.

Arctic Monkeys – Bet That You Look Good on the Dancefloor: The one track that sums up my teenage years this is by far a dancefloor filler at an indie disco if I did say so myself. Arctic Monkeys’ evolution through age and musical style has explored a number of different avenues but still stay true to their raw sound that made Glastonbury last year.

Leave a Reply

