Soundtrack to my week: 14/07

Personallogo

Well this is more of a soundtrack to my month this time. After a somewhat hiatus due to the series of events that have happened over the last couple of weeks, we’re back on the musical highway and things are looking on the up. From hospital trips to spending my birthday at the festivals of festivals, Glastonbury, jetting off to Amsterdam soon after and then feeling at home at Gloucestershire’s own festival 2000 Trees, it’s been quite a whirlwind but a whole lot of fun along the way. So without further a due, here’s the soundtrack to…life over the last few weeks.

Dr Hook – Millionaire

Since Dad has broken more bones in his leg than a fish dinner, this song has been ever present since the days I was a little lady and always reminds me of him. I’m quite a family person and songs like this always have a significance, it’s the lyrics it holds and the sentimental value it carries that makes me like it so much. Hey, who wouldn’t want to be a millionaire!

Mumford and Sons – Babel

One of the pinch me moments over the last few months has been interviewing Ted Dwane from Mumford and Sons for our photography titles – who knew he was such a good photographer! I can’t count how many times I shed a tear seeing them at Glastonbury festival, their headline set was just incredible, and what a way to finish off the whole weekend. This was my first time at Glastonbury festival and being able to spend it with great friends who brought balloons and cakes to celebrate my birthday was just the best thing. It certainly won’t be my last time at Glastonbury, I haven’t even touched the surface yet!

The Beatles – Ballad of John and Yoko

Getting back from Glastonbury on the Monday and jetting off to Glastonbury on the Tuesday my wonderful boyfriend took me to Amsterdam as a birthday treat. My first time to Holland and it was the best experience, the architecture, food, people and the sites were certainly something. And the best thing of all? We got to stay in the same hotel that John Lennon and Yoko Ono did their bed-in for piece on 25th March 1969. It was incredible being amongst such history and something I certainly won’t forget. Made my life when I realised that the Amsterdam Hilton is mentioned in this song!

Childhood – Blue Velvet 

Saw these guys at 2000 Trees over the weekend and they are definitely my new favourite band. Pop psychedelia with a modern twist and a nod to the 80s and 90s, their an eclectic band with a romantic heart and a dreamy feel. Great for summer evenings and chilling out when in a retro mood but looking for something new. Quite something live and their guitar collection is just lovely, filled with pastel colours.

Frank Turner – I Am Disappeared 

Amongst meeting the likes of Hew Stephens and Lloyd Grossman of all people over the last couple of weeks, meeting Frank Turner is definitely up their in my highlights. Headlining 2000 Trees this year he made a surprise appearance during the BBC Introducing West broadcast this weekend and it was so great working with him. My other half sees Frank as his ultimate hero so how could I not ask for a cheeky autograph (sad fan girl moment I know). His set was just something, and  the track I Am Disappeared is definitely up there with my favourites. From seeing him at Wembley last year to right here in my home town was the best. Long may the summer festival season last!

Oh yeah, I’m 23 now. Stuff you Taylor Swift, even though I’m not 22 anymore I’m feeling pretty good. If anything, I feel even younger! Grab me that anti-aging cream.

Leave a Reply

