Soundtrack to my week

Personallogo

Ok I know it’s a Monday, but as it’s a bank holiday technically it’s still the weekend so we’ll let that one slip. Well what can I say, the sun is shining, we’re baking cakes, off to the jazz festival and have been listening to some great summer-time tracks this week, including:

Bob Marley – Don’t Worry Be Happy

A mantra I certainly should be living by at the moment as I’m quite the worrier, this classic track from Bob Marley always perks me up and makes me think of a great summer planned ahead.

Dean Martin – How Do You Like Your Eggs in the Morning

Played every week on the sister show Teacakes and Talk show I think this is one track that should be played ever morning while making your breakfast. It certainly gets you ready for the day ahead!

Daughter – Youth

The incredible talent that is Daughter, the lovely Bryony Hill covered one of their tracks on our sister show Teacakes and Talk last week. The way they mix their inquisitive lyrics and metaphors with the most beautiful guitar riffs is just exquisite.

Damian Marley – Welcome To Jamrock

Played on the very first Rhyme and Shine After Dark show this one has been blaring out of my speakers on these warm nights, makes me want to go to Jamaica!

The Kinks – Sunny Afternoon

Ever since coming back from a Bloc Party gig in Manchester in the early hours of the morning and watching a documenary about The Kinks while eating Haribo I’ve been booked on them ever since. Sunny afternoon is such a timeless song and one that is perfect for lazy about the garden to.

Leave a Reply

