Winners of the Download Music Awards Announced

Will and the People, The Fores and Daytona Lights came out on top at this year’s Download Music Awards, in association with The International Indepdent Charts, Official European Charts and British Music Week.

With nominations including Toddla T and Dot Rotten the awards aim to recognise the talent and efforts of artists across the UK.

Beating bands and artists such as Everything Everything and Urban Poetry to the post of Best Album, Daytona Lights walked away with the award for their debut album ‘This Modern Landscape’ released last December. The Hackney band have since promised to release more groove-pop material in the near future. Other winners of the night included Will and the People for Best Indie Act and Moonjets for best live performance.

Based on public votes the entire list of winners of the Download Music Awards are as follows:

Best Newcomer – The Fores

Best Indie Act – Will and the People

Best Acoustic Act – Nothing North of Alaska

Best Live Performance – Moonjets

Best Music Video – Sober ‘Tipsy’

Best Single – Carousel ‘Big Issue’

Best Album – Daytona Lights ‘The Modern Landscape’

Best Urban Act – Cashtastic

Best Website – George Montague

The Download Music Awards are due to return next year.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s