Soundtrack to my week 8/07

What a week. After going for a press trip to Budapest for the launch of Panasonic’s new range of cameras, I’m back to the dreary weather of Britain. The one thing I love about travelling is getting the chance to sing to the top of my lungs to the radio in my car, so this has been my top five tracks for the week and yes they were the essentials blaring through the speakers on the way to Heathrow.

Katy Perry – Wide Awake

It’s very rare that I want to go to the cinema, but since seeing the trailer for Katy Perry’s new 3D documovie I would even go on my own. Or maybe just wait till it comes out on DVD. I’m a bit of a geek when it comes to musicians biographers, but when they’re made into a film too all the better. As the main song to the movie, this one definitely tops my top five this week.

Florence and the Machine – No Light No Light, Spector remix

I’m a sucker for remixes and absolutely loved this one when I heard it. Discovered on the brilliant website that is RCRD LBL where you can explore and download for free new remixes this one was a great find.

Newton Faulkner – Clouds

With a voice to recognisable to the ear, as soon as I heard this on Greg James’ drivetime show I knew it was Newton Faulkner. Big fan of his voice, music, lyrics and brilliant covers, I can’t wait to hear the rest of his new album Write it on your Skin.

Of Monsters and Men – Little Talks

Like a younger Florence and the Machine this song is just beautiful with the male and female vocal. The trumpets and quirky animated video make it one of those songs that brings a spring to your step and a smile to your face.

Enter Shikari – Sorry you’re not a Winner

Getting in touch with my younger emo self this one popped up on shuffle and it’s a good motivation song when I’m working, as odd as it sounds. As much as I love this band I do admit to skipping the end bit because it’s a bit too ahhhhhh when I’m sitting at my desk. It’s always one of those things that makes me ponder, what are my fellow office team listening on their ipods. Something tells me they’d be surprised to hear what’s on mine.

End note: Yesterday was a day of doing and getting done. Currently organising an event during the Stroud Fringe Festival for Oxjam so keep posted for more info on that, and I also went to the Stroud Record fair which you can read my write up and hear about the event here.

Leave a Reply

