Down memory lane: Live 8…seven years on

Seven years ago me and my Dad went to Live 8 in Hyde Park, London. I was 15 at the time and remember it was warm, unlike the weather today, and was the most amazing gig I have ever been to! It was one of those text to win competitions that no one thought they would win, and we were lucky enough to text in once to o2 and win a pair of tickets. Fashioning platinum blonde hair I wore a spotty skirt and bright pink converse that I had to take off while walking up to Hyde Park because my feet hurt so much, so I ended up coming back from the gig in my socks. The musicians I was most looking forward to were Coldplay, Keane, Paul McCartney, UB40, and the legends that are Pink Floyd and The Who that I’m sure would be a rarity to see these days. As an indie loving teenager at the time I was ecstatic about seeing my favourite band at the time The Killers, waiting for them to perform my favourite song at the time ‘Mr Brightside’, but left disappointed when they didn’t play it. The controversial performance of ‘Children of the Revolution’ between the British hero that is Elton John and the popular ex-Liberteens frontman at the time Pete Doherty, was certainly interesting and you could see the awkwardness between the two in the video below. With videos of African children streaming on big screens throughout the day, the tissues were certainly covered in tears. Watched by billions of people across the world it was one concert enjoyed by the masses and helped many in third world countries. BoB Geldolf certainly has his moment but he ain’t half brilliant.

AWKWARD performance between Elton John and Pete Doherty!

Leave a Reply

